Cinnamon Coconut Crisp

Now that’s got a nice ring to it :) It also has apple pears + weetabix, but that would have ruined my wonderful alliteration.

I hope everyone’s Sunday is going well! It is currently 11:39am here and I am dying to know how it is already the day before Monday. I had a four (four!) day weekend, and it feels like I was just at school yesterday. On the bright side though, I only have two weeks left of classes! And then exams…joy.

ImageHow I feel imagining the next few weeks of all-nighters + nonstop studying.

Back to the point – Sunday morning! I didn’t really know what to do with myself this morning since I had absolutely zero motivation, UNTIL I decided to create a new recipe! I had a baking fail last night making Katie’s polka dot banana bread, and I needed redemption. I don’t normally do this as I am not remotely well versed in baking chemistry, but I decided I had nothing to lose and gave it a shot!

And thank goodness I did.

Image

I promise it tastes better than it looks. Emma’s photography skills = nonexistant.

Because this was the Experiment of All Experiments, I didn’t want to waste too many ingredients. So I tried to make the bulk of this with ingredients that I wasn’t a huge fan of and wanted to use up, but didn’t want to waste.

Image

Apologies to all my Brits. Just cannot deal with this stuff. 

This is definitely not for everyone, and it absolutely tastes a little grainy and healthy, but I personally enjoy that! If you don’t though, I think serving some vanilla ice cream over it would be to die for.

Ingredients:

For the bottom layer:

▪       2 weetabix, crumbled

▪       2 tbsp coconut flour

▪       1/2 cup applesauce

▪       1/2 cup 2% milk

▪       1 tbsp vanilla whey protein powder

▪       1 packet stevia

For the top layer:

▪       2 weetabix, crumbled

▪       Roughly 1-2 tbsp excess flakes

▪       ¼ cup plain 2% greek yogurt

▪       1 tbsp butter

▪       1 packet stevia

For the filling:

▪       1 medium Asian pear, diced

▪       1.5 tsp cinnamon

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
  2. Crush the Weetabix. I used a magic bullet, but you could just as easily use a fork.
  3. Thoroughly mix in the coconut flour, protein powder + stevia.
  4. In a separate bowl, combine applesauce and milk.
  5. Pour dry mixture into wet, and mix well.
  6. Spread out evenly in a square, oven safe pan. (Mine was approximately 5 x 5 inches)
  7. Chop up the Asian pear into small, ½ inch pieces. Layer over bottom crust.
  8. Evenly spread cinnamon on top.
  9. Bake for 30 minutes.
  10. While waiting, microwave the butter + greek yogurt for 30 seconds, or until butter is soft enough to combine.
  11. Crumble the next 2 weetabix in either a food processor, blender, or with a fork.
  12. Mix in stevia.
  13. Mix wet and dry ingredients until well combined.
  14. Remove pan from the oven, and pat mixture firmly over pears (cover them completely)
  15. Bake for 15 minutes.
  16. Lastly, top with the excess cereal flakes.
  17. Bake for 5-10 more minutes, or until crunchy.
  18. Enjoy!

I know this is a seriously weird and complicated recipe, but I truly hope you give it a try! Feel free to ask me any questions you may have :)

Leave a Reply

